newbee

JFK Assassination
Mark de Rooij

newbee

Post by Mark de Rooij »

Although I have been studying the JKF assassination for over 30 years now, I consider myself a newbee to this forum, for I have not checked every entry. So, hopefully you'll excuse me for for asking or remarking the obvious or adressing topics already extensively covered. My remarks, in random order:
1. Great documentary on SBS6, Wim! It is by far the most extensive digest on the assassination I have ever seen - it puts a lot of things in a good perspective.
2. More than an interesting 'whodunit', I consider the assassination, its preparation and the long aftermath as a lesson; a lesson to be very cautious as to what governments, officials and autorities want you to believe. I mean, is there any difference between the Warren Report and the reasons for invading Iraq? Donald Sutherland put it very eloquently in Stone's JFK: "Who benefitted?"
3. I am apalled by all the naivety of the American people and officials involved. Take Gerald Ford, for instance, in the interview in which he denies Ruby having had ties with the mob. Ford says he is convinced such ties never existed, for when he and Earl Warren themselved asked Ruby about such ties, "Ruby specifically said NO". That - according to Ford - is proof no such ties existed. The facial expression of Gerald Ford during the interview plus the content of his naive remark sums it all up: no-one believes the Warren findings, and the members of the Warren Commission themselves don't either. The Ford interview does, however, add a dash of black humor to a sad event.
3. Whatever happened to the 'death bed testimony' (some 6 years ago) of a former Dallas PD cop, who (according to his son), has had part in the preparations of the assassination? Never heard from it since.