The Edwin Walker Factor in Assassination Lit 101

JFK Assassination
Randy Bednorz

The Edwin Walker Factor in Assassination Lit 101

Post by Randy Bednorz »

During the "50th anniversary propaganda frenzy," Lone-Nut-ists pointed to Oswald's attempt to "kill" General Edwin Walker. This -- no less a part of the "frenzy" -- was part of the O'Reilly "Killing Kennedy" dramatization.I had visited some of the material on this event much, much earlier. I didn't pursue it in depth, having discovered a short-cut to "basic questions" which I unveiled here in 2005 and 2009. Compared to the "historians" with a long publishing history on the general topic, I'm new to this. I didn't start "catching up" until spring, 1999. It all became an exercise for me to prove to myself -- with a high degree of confidence [a statistical concept] -- that there really was a conspiracy.Having done that, I didn't go bonkers looking at more material about the Walker story.Walker himself had plenty of motive to kill JFK, since he'd been cashiered from his military career for distributing right-wing propaganda to his soldiers in Germany. To the day of his death, Walker insisted that Oswald had an accomplice in the shooting. That automatically adds a conspiratorial twist to the overall story ending with November 22 of that year. Yet, the Lone-Nut-ists cite Marina Oswald's own words of Oswald's "confession" to making an attempt on Walker's life. Of course, we know Marina Porter's views as they persist today: she's not in the camp of the Lone-Nut-ists.After seeing this material I'd mentioned in the 50th anniversary Propaganda Burst, I revisited the story again -- albeit superficially.The discrepancies between the two events -- shooting at Walker and killing JFK -- are stark. Again, I can only draw from my young experience handling a rifle.I once took my old Mossberg semi-auto out into the Southern California foothills with my Volkswagon. I wanted to adjust the sights on the gun. I set up some of the clas